In Santa Marta the curfew starts at 11:00 p.m.

Santa Marta

In Santa Marta the curfew starts at 11:00 p.m. According to decree 100 issued by the Santa Marta District Mayor’s Office on May 18, from that date until June 1 the curfew will apply every day from 11:00 pm until 5:00 am. Therefore, commercial establishments, including gastronomic establishments, supermarkets, department stores, chain stores, etc., will be open to the public until 10:00 pm. 

It should be noted that during curfew hours, the transit of people and vehicles is allowed for the exit or entrance to the city. For which you must present proof of travel, such as transportation tickets, physical or electronic boarding passes or toll receipts.


Use of Beaches: 

The maximum permitted capacity must be complied with of the beaches, rivers and spas of the Santa Marta, including the Tayrona National Natural Park. Likewise, the hours in which they will be open to the public will be from 09:00 am to 06:00 pm. Except for the beaches of Playa Blanca, Playa Grande, Inca Inca, Don Diego, Buritaca, Bonda and Minca. Whose entrance will be allowed from 9:00 am to 4:00 pm. Additionally, the Rodadero and Rodadero Sur beaches will be open from 9:00 am until 12:30 pm and from 1:30 pm until 6:00 pm.

On the other hand, with the purpose of preserving the ecosystems and making sustainable, conscious and responsible use of the beaches, the measure of a day of rest and oxygenation is reiterated. That is why on Wednesdays of each week the beaches, rivers and spas will be closed, except for the Tayrona National Natural Park.


Pico y Cédula:

The measure of pico y cédula remains in force in Santa Marta, until 5:00 am on June 1, 2021. 

This measure applies to make payments in banking and financial establishments. To do errands at notary offices, curator’s offices, Public Instruments Office, Civil Registry Office, District Mobility Secretariat and the SIETT.  The last digit of the citizenship card and/or foreigner’s document or passport must be taken into account in the following order:

4, 5, 6: May 19, 2021.

7, 8, 9: May 20th, 2021

0, 1, 2: May 21, 2021

3, 4, 5: May 22, 2021

NOT APPLICABLE: May 23, 2021

6, 7, 8: May 24, 2021

9, 0, 1: May 25, 2021

2, 3, 4: May 26, 2021

5, 6, 7: May 27, 2021

8, 9, 0: May 28, 2021

1, 2, 3: May 29, 2021

NOT APPLICABLE: May 30, 2021

4, 5, 6: May 31, 2021

7, 8, 9: 01 June 2021


The above measure does not apply to beaches and other tourist sites, nor to restaurants or hotels. 

Finally, the Ley Seca measure is maintained. That is to say, the consumption of alcoholic and intoxicating beverages in public spaces, tobacconists, and stores is prohibited. This measure does not apply to restaurants, which are authorized for their sale and consumption.  Likewise, the sale of alcoholic beverages to take away and through electronic platforms for home delivery is allowed.

All the above measures were established by the Mayor’s Office of the city in order to contain the contagion of covid – 19 and to continue advancing in the economic recovery of Santa Marta. 

You can consult the complete decree here: Decree No 100 of May 18, 2021.


About Author



Leave a Reply